Bad business practices

“Why on earth would you have a popup like this on your photography website,” someone asked me half an hour ago.

I checked out the link in question and noticed a shortened URL: http://zoot.li/b4tdk. The right link should be: http://creativeramblings.com/ile-de-re/.

When I clicked, this is what happened:

1) The popup appeared right away. No time to see anything else.
2) After clicking the cross at its top right, I found out that all external links on the page had become unclickable.

Zoot.li is a URL shortener service created by ZootRock.

The service has not just attached an irrelevant ad to the page. It has done so without asking for my permission. As such, ZootRock is killing the user experience on my website and making me look like the person trying to spam others.

Well done, ZootRock! I’m going to make sure that everyone knows what you are up to.

One thought on “Bad business practices

Leave a Reply

